the book raid

Last week I was itching to buy some books so I decided to raid the nearest bookstore from our office. Here are my purchases:

Blue Shoes and Happiness

The continuing saga of the best lady detective in Botswana. A very different kind of detective series that offers stories that are so real yet in a tone that is so light.

I was just curious about what this book is all about. Let’s see if its worth all the controversy it stirred up decades ago.

Hoping to come across another engrossing family drama (the last novel about a dysfunctional family that I really like was ‘A spot of bother’ by Mark Haddon), I decided to try this book out. Hope it works out.

What can I say? I am a sucker for mystery novels and Agatha Christie was one of the best.

I love Dilbert, ’nuff said.

I admit that the Man Booker Prize seal made me buy this book but hey it might be worth it.

Another Murakami. He has never enthralled me but I keep on reading and reading his novels. There are actually times when I get this feeling of ‘I need to read a Murakami novel NOW’. Weird.

Maybe cheesy. Maybe uplifting. Maybe none of the above. Let’s see.

The best book if you need a door stop. But I liked ‘The Stand’ so I decided to get this one, now all I have to do is get the time to finish the whole damn 1000++ pages of it.

5 Responses to “the book raid”

  1. Nice. I love books.

    Of these books though I’ve only read Sputnik Sweetheart. Murakami is one of my favorite authors.

  2. sunshine, tell me what you think of story of O. I couldn’t finish it. LOL.

Leave a Reply

