American beauty or the beauty of the paper bag

Back when sex was just a sought after, much-hyped, seemingly out of reach physical experience for me, I saw this movie that has been generously sprinkled with sexual images and allusions. But amazingly, what stuck me most is not Mena Suvari’s bathtub with petals scene nor Annette Bening’s lets- form -a- V- with- our- legs- in -the -air sexual position (which by the way is worthy to be included in the Olympics’ floor exercise gymnastics competition) but Wes Bentley’s monologue about a paper bag being blown by the wind, which to the not-on-the-know (hehehe) manifests the unbelievable wonders of existence (hanep):

I guess I could be pretty pissed of about what’s happened to me…

But it’s hard to stay mad when there’s so much beauty in the world.

Sometimes I feel like I’m seeing it all at once, and it’s too much, my heart fills up like a balloon that’s about to burst…

And then I remember to relax, and stop trying to hold on to it, and it flows through me like rain and I can’t feel anything but gratitude for every single moment of my stupid little life…

You have no idea what I’m talking about…

I’m sure…

But don’t worry…

You will…

Someday.

Leave a comment